About Us

On July 12, 1943, under the leadership of Regional Director, Soror Minerva Johnson and National President, Soror Elsie Austin, life was breathed into the Alpha Tau Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated in Orangeburg, South Carolina. The late Sorors Rosamond Alston and Helen W. Sheffield were the architects of Delta in Orangeburg for the graduate and undergraduate chapters.

Charter members of Alpha Tau Sigma were: Rosamond Alston*, Cassandra Maxwell Birnie*, Helen W. Sheffield*, Mamie E. Thompson*, and Clemmie E. Webber. Soror Helen W. Sheffield served as Alpha Tau Sigma’s first President.

The first group of sorors and initiates to join in the new chapter were:

Willie B. Calhoun*                 Alethia Lightener Lewis*
Elizabeth Calhoun*                 Nettie P. Parler*
Cora Green*                 Laverte Reed*
Etta Butler Rowe*                 Beatrice Thompson*
Rosa DeLorme Harris*                 Trudelle Wimbush*
Edith Vaughn*                 Rose Reed Odom
Dollis Simpson Johnson                 Rose Embly
Marjorie Kelly  


During the 23rd National Convention in New York City, August 14-20, 1954, delegates recommended and voted in the affirmative that hereafter a graduate chapter shall be designated as an alumnae chapter and identified according to the community in which it is located. In keeping with the policy of Grand Chapter to designate non-campus based chapters by county, city or area of chapter location, the name was changed from Alpha Tau Sigma to Orangeburg Alumnae Chapter.

Since 1943, the Orangeburg Alumnae Chapter has increased from five charter members to over 200 members in 2009. Many chapter members have been recognized as leaders in community activism, athletics, business, education and scholarship, media and literature as well as in government. Members have excelled in these roles at the local, state, and national levels.

Over the years, the chapter has established programs to provide public service initiatives based upon our sorority’s Five-Point Programmatic Thrust: (1) Economic Development, (2) Educational Development, (3) International Awareness and Involvement, (4) Physical and Mental Health, and (5) Political Awareness and Involvement. Through its local and national programs, the chapter continue to fulfill our Founders’ dreams of achieving excellence, providing scholarships and rendering public service to the community.

Major projects of the chapter have included: political awareness, voter registration, tutorial services, health and wellness, development of our youth, community empowerment and financial fortitude. The chapter sponsors many activities that benefit the community such as Ebony Fashion Fair, May Week, Betty Shabazz Delta Academy/GEMS, Monsieur Ebonaire Beautillion and Pageant, and the Healthy Lifestyle Weight Loss Challenge. Some of the organizations receiving chapter support are the United Negro College Fund, NAACP, American Cancer Society, American Red Cross, CASA Family Systems and Habitat for Humanity.

Orangeburg Alumnae Chapter has been recognized for its’ “commitment to serve” by many community organizations. Several awards, certificates, plaques and trophies have been received throughout the years. Members were thrilled to receive a $500 award shared with Sumter Alumnae Chapter, a Lawry Certificate of Excellence from Lawry Foods.

Past Presidents:

1943       Helen Sheffield* 1973-1975            Ruby Davis
1944       Rosa Harris* 1975-1977            Barbara Townsend
1945       Etta Rowe* 1977-1979            Barbara Clark
1946       Alethia Lewis* 1979-1981            Margaret Roberts
1947       Johncie Williams* 1981-1983            Rosa Perry
1948-1949            Clemmie Webber * 1983-1985            Lelia White
1950       Geneva Williams 1985-1988            Grace Salters
1951       Beautine DeCosta 1988-1990            Ida Wanamaker
1952       Trudelle Wimbush* 1990-1992            Ida Wanamaker
1953-1954            Anna Hunter 1992-1994            Andria Jeffries
1955       Clemmie Webber* 1994-1996            Sara Funderburk
1956       Dorothy Isaac 1996-1998            Shirley Hugee
1957-1958            Geneva Williams 1998-2000            Rosemary Smith
1959-1961            Amelia Roberts* 2000-2002            Debra Felder
1961-1963            Bernice Middleton* 2002-2004            Georgia Montgomery
1963-1965            Barbara Jenkins 2004-2006            Georgia Montgomery
1965-1967            Barbara Jenkins 2006-2010            Rosemary Smith Hickman
1967-1969            Valeria Staley 2010-2012            Georgia Montgomery
1969-1971            Bernice Jenkins*/Alba Lewis 2012-2016            Cynthia Keller
1971-1973            Inez Duncan* 2016 –                   Rita Teal


Contact Us

The members of the Orangeburg Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. thank you for your interest!  Please feel free to contact us at: Email: [email protected] Social Media: Facebook:…

Read More
Youth Initiatives

Youth Initiative Parent/ Guardian Form Youth Initiative Volunteer Form Risk Management Background Screening Process Delta Academy Catching the Dreams of Tomorrow, Preparing Young Women For the 21st Century The Delta…

Read More
Protected: Members Only

There is no excerpt because this is a protected post.

Read More